Our staff deliver the day-to-day operations of Forest Professionals BC to meet the responsibilities mandated by the Professional Governance Act and achieve the strategic goals and objectives set by FPBC Council.

Staff Organizational Chart
Business Function Overview by Staff Team

Senior Leadership Team

Christine Gelowitz, RPF

Chief Executive Officer

Christine is Chief Executive Officer of Forest Professionals British Columbia (FPBC), a regulatory body that governs the professional conduct of 5,400 forest professionals licenced to practice professional forestry in British Columbia.

Christine is a change leader, policy designer, and regulated professional. She has held executive leadership roles since 2011, and has more than 20 years experience in policy and program development in the forest, natural resource, professional regulation, and association management sectors.

Christine knows how to partner to drive transformative business change, and how to turn strategy into real business results. Most recently, Christine led FPBC to transition its whole operations to operate under the Professional Governance Act after nearly 75 years of operating under the Foresters Act. Christine is also proudly supporting the organization to advance Indigenous reconciliation and gender equity in the forest sector.

Christine holds a professional designation as a Registered Professional Forester (RPF), and a science degree in Natural Resource Management with a forestry major.

Prior to joining FPBC in 2016, Christine worked in the BC provincial government for nearly 20 years in various forest and natural resource ministries, where she honed her skills delivering government business programs and received training and executive coaching in people leadership, policy design, business improvement, strategy development and execution.

Christine is grateful to live, work and play on Vancouver Island in the traditional territories of the Lkwungen peoples.

Garnet Mierau, RPF

Director of Practice

Garnet Mierau, RPF, has practised professional forestry at a provincial scale since 2003, serving in an executive capacity with the Consulting Foresters of BC, then most recently with Forsite Consultants.

Garnet is also past-chair of the FPBC Board and previously served three years on FPBC’s Discipline Committee. Garnet was recently the Kamloops-North Thompson regional coordinator for the National Forest Week-BC Coalition as well.

Aga Jendo, CPA, CMA

Director of Finance & Administration

Aga is a registered finance professional, holding CPA and CMA designations, and has more than 20 years of financial and administrative experience, the past 12 at the director level.

Aga served as the director of finance and operations at West Point Grey Academy since 2017.

Casey Macaulay, MA, RPF

Registrar & Director of Act Compliance

As FPBC’s registrar, Casey oversees the programs for admission of new registrants and also manages the complaints and discipline process, including enforcement of FPBC’s bylaws under the Professional Governance Act.

He joined the staff in 2011 after working in the private forestry sector for 15 years. His prior experience includes co-managing forest tenures with Aboriginal communities, forest operations planning, and stakeholder engagement.

Casey has a diploma in forest technology, a degree in forest management, and a MA in conflict analysis and management.

Admissions and Registration

Chi Cejalvo, MA, RD

Deputy Director, Registration

Sydney Kucera, BA.Hons

Certifications Lead

Priya Bharti

Learning Management Co-ordinator

Sylvia Xie, BScF

Registration Co-ordinator

Complaints, Discipline, and Enforcement

Daniel Marcoux, MBA, CRSP, RPF

Deputy Director of Compliance

Conrad Malilay

Compliance Manager

Finance and Administration

Eric Yang

Senior Accountant

Niv Resheff, MAEd

Business Services Lead

Wendy Halasz Corless

Executive Assistant

Professional Practice

Tara Bergeson, RPF, MSc

Deputy Director, Competence & Practice

Practice Co-ordinator

Troy Lee, MA, BScF

Manager, Member Competence & Engagement

Registrant Communications, Public & Stakeholder Engagement

Dean Pelkey

Director of Communications

Cheryl Waddell

Senior Communications Specialist & Editor

Michael Hall

Senior Online Communications Specialist